Entry update: Sailing legends lay down their intent

Published on 20/03/2019

The Solitaire URGO Le Figaro is set to enter a new era this year with the introduction of the much-anticipated Figaro Bénéteau 3 as the vessel of choice. Preparing to rise to the challenge are the world’s top solo sailors who have started to lay down their intent to be on the startline in Nante, France come June 2nd.

Reading like a ‘who’s-who’ of offshore sailing, amongst the role call are previous Solitaire winners, round-the-world record setters, Vendée Globe winners and more than a sprinkling of sailing royalty, which combined will make this THE most exciting Solitaire ever.

As of the 1st March, 5 skippers had already registered with 23 more pre-registered for what is shaping up to be an enthralling and historic 50th anniversary edition of the unofficial world championship of solo offshore sailing.

2017/18 Volvo Ocean Race winning skipper Charles Caudrelier, who won The Solitaire in his first attempt in 2004, was one of the first to officially enter. 2019 will be his fourth Solitaire and he will no doubt be looking to replicate his winning form of late which has seen him pick-up the much-coveted French Sailing Federation Sailor of the Year in recognition of his achievements.

Armel Le Cléac’h – a two-times winner of The Solitaire in 2003 and 2010 who more recently set a new Vendée Globe solo round the world record in 2016/17 of 74 days, 3 hours and 35 minutes with his long-term partner Banque Populaire VIII – will also grace the role call. Known as ‘The Jackal’ for his ruthless ability to hunt down his opposition, his credentials are rock solid.

Likewise, Adrien Hardy, Tanguy Le Turquais and Arthur Le Vaillant are also amongst the early entrants.

The line-up of skippers who have shown their commitment by pre-registering is no less impressive.

Notably Jérémie Beyou two-time winner of the Solitaire du Figaro and one of Frances most impressive sailing talents; Michel Desjoyeaux, the only man to win the Vendée Globe twice and a three-times winner of the Solitaire; and Loïck Peyron, a man who needs little introduction having won the Transat Jacques-Vabre twice, the Route du Rhum-Destination Guadeloupe in a record setting time, and claiming the Jules Verne Throphy for the fastest lap of the globe with Banque Populaire V – and that’s just for starters.

So the 2019 edition of The Solitaire URGO Le Figaro looks guaranteed to deliver some of the most intense and engaging offshore racing we’ve ever seen. It will provide a rare opportunity to witness the world’s finest competing together on a level playing field, as they look to tackle not only each other, but the new Figaro Bénéteau 3.

ENTRY LIST AS OF 01/03/2019


No tags were found